Just hit the little white ball

Posted: July 15, 2007 in Uncategorized

Did I hear correctly?  My oldest daughter, Stephanie, called me this weekend …

And if I heard her clearly, she had been at a driving range HITTING GOLF BALLS!!  Now, for those of you who are saying “so what”, you have to understand that the words STEPHANIE and GOLF have never been uttered in the same sentence. EVER!

Not only was she on the driving range, but she was calling to tell me she was headed to a local sporting goods store to buy a set of golf clubs!   WHAT?  MY CHILD?

That does it.  (I had been contemplating the very same thing in recent weeks!)  So, now it is confirmed. I must do it, too.

It’s actually been one of my long-term personal goals. I’ve really wanted to learn to play for a while.  Now, I need some new clubs, some stylin’ golf shoes, and DEFINITELY some golf lessons.

My husband loves that game SO much.  How cool it would be if we could enjoy it together?  I know he’d love that.

So, when he wakes up from his Sunday afternoon snooze, I’m going to make it official.   As for Stephanie, what a great mother/daughter activity we could enjoy together.

Tiger Woods, look out. The game of golf will never be the same!

Comments
  1. tsm says:

    ehHeh.Heh! HahahahahahaHAHAHAHAHAha.EH-heh!
    HhhhhhhhOh! ( *Scuze me.*) Pam in golf shoes?? Ehhhehh heh heh! HAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAAAAAAAA!

    Okay, I’m imagining it all now: Plaid trousers and coordinating polo. Little hat, maybe? …But I gotta tell ya, sister, the theme from “I LOVE LUCY” is already rolling for the background music of that forthcoming event.

    I can HARDLY WAIT for the blog that follows that day!

    : )

  2. pcase says:

    Reading your comment, Tracey, made me LOL, ’cause I could almost hear you thru my computer!

    Here’s how I look at it. I’ll toss some golf clubs in a cute little pink bag. Coordinate with s stylin’ Ralph Lauren sleeveless polo (yes, there’s RL golfwear for women) with a matching skinny-style cropped pant.

    Throw on one of those pink/white oxford golf shoes with some RL sports socks – then of course top it off with your hat suggestion.

    Maybe if my attire will help me look like I know what I’m doing, no one will notice that I never hit the ball!

  3. pcase says:

    FYI – just had my first golf lesson in our family room. Thanks, honey, for the tips. Feet shoulder length apart … slight bend in my knees … keep my body on its axis … keep my head down (looking at the imaginary ball) while bringing club back … then allow my body to bring the club back around … meet the imaginary ball and follow through. Wow – that is a lot to remember!

  4. tsm says:

    See first paragraph, comment number one.

  5. Vicky says:

    Golf lesson #2. Always keep you eye on the ball. Wait til you make contact with that dimpled thing before you follow it because if you don’t you will woof it every time. Take it from someone who knows all to well. Have fun.

    FYI: I thought about picking the game back up so if I do maybe we can have couples day on the green and finish it up with dinner at the 19th hole.

Leave a Reply

