She is alive – an update

Posted: August 2, 2007 in Uncategorized

dsc00615.jpgI am talking about myself, in case you thought I had fallen off the face of the earth.

I’ve been just a little preoccupied including saying good-bye to my precious nephew . Click more and I’ll do my best to update you while I’m taking a little late afternoon break at the office …

Well, wedding season is upon us, for one thing. Bridal shower number one is this weekend, another one in two weeks, etc. This thing is really starting to feel “real” now. And the original “mother of the bride” dress I had hoped to purchase was sold out – so I will be going with option #2. Photos to come soon once it is purchased.

Chelsea’s senior year begins Monday. Senior photos are taken, proofs are back. Still gotta get more casuals and “friend shots” taken. For those of you who haven’t been down this path, it is apparently TOTALLY uncool if you don’t invest in senior “friend photos”. So, we’re working on getting the girls together for some of those, in addition to more solo photos of Chelsea. You can NEVER have too many photos of your kids!

dsc00619.jpgMy wonderful nephew Keith is on a plane to Chicago as I write this – headed to Navy basic training. I love that boy like my own. And it sure was hard saying goodbye to that young man last night. Some of us got together to wish him well and hug his neck. WOW – he sure will look good in those dress whites when we see him again! Looks like it could be many months before he’s back this way.  Basic training leads right into tech school and ship assignments!   What a culture shock!

dsc00618.jpgAnd they told him – NO CELL PHONES!!! Yikes. Joe, Chelsea and I would need therapy if someone took away our cell phones. Keith, good luck with that cell phone thing. But above all, be good and be safe! Note here on the right that Chelsea and Keith are literally “two peas in a pod”, as they say!

Oh, and I officially moved into my new job yesterday. Although, I’ve been working my old job and new job simultaneously for about a week now. My official date was August 1. And I’m knee deep in it already. I love it – but my learning curve is beyond extreme. Guess God was ready to allow me one of the biggest challenges of my life – but I’m strapped in and ready for the ride!

The UC continues to grow and bless us left and right. You see, in the middle of all this stuff going on, we find ourselves with great things happening in our church life. We simply love our staff and church family – every week bringing us new relationships and people who are helping carry the torch of the UC vision!! Praise God for all of you!

Okay, that’s it for now – I have more to do before leaving today. Keep commenting – love to hear from you!

Comments
  1. Tracey says:

    Whoa, you can sure see the Beaty in that boy! Handsome fella! Terry’s nephew is in the Navy, too. We were there they came to get him to take him to basic…two years ago. So, we understand what that feels like.

Leave a Reply

