Is that a scalpal “eye” see?

Posted: August 28, 2007 in Uncategorized

For the love of all that is good, can I tell you what happened to me yesterday?   I cannot believe I have forgotten to share this …

So I’ve been wearing the same pair of contact lenses for several weeks.  (I wear disposables that should be thrown away about once a month)  My goal is always to get the absolute MOST wear out of every pair, because those little puppies are expensive!

To renew my prescription, I found myself needing to find a new optometrist who accepts my vision insurance.  So, I closed my eyes, picked one off my insurance list and went yesterday to be fitted for new lenses.

While there, I “mentioned” to my new eye doc that I was concerned about a little “bubble” that had popped up on my left eye.  Kind of looked like a blister (am I grossing you out???)    To my surprise, he said “that is a cyst, and I can remove it today if you like.”

A cyst – ON MY EYEBALL!!!!  Gee whiz.  Just put me to sleep and get that thing out of there.   At that point, I found out that “putting me to sleep” was not an option and totally unnecessary.  (although I feel most certain he’d like to put me to sleep now!)

So, my new doc places a Novocaine/deadening type solution in BOTH eyes so that he can have total control while he slices this thing off my eye.  (Now I know I’m grossing you out!)

Then what do I do?  I have to bring this mini-surgery to a screeching halt while I take time to nearly pass out!  Yep, I got so light-headed.  The room got grey, and my face dropped between my knees.   My new doctor friend probably wished he’d just left that little booger alone.  It took about 15 minutes for me to come around and allow him to finish the work he started.

All is better now – other than a big red cut where the cyst used to be.  Seems it will take a couple of weeks for that to clear up.

Next time I get some wild idea to have something cut off where I can see it – the doctor will have to find a way to do it with eyes closed.  Some close to me would call that a “pamism”.   ‘Nuff said.

Comments
  1. tsm says:

    Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhmy.Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhmyyyyyy. Terry has passed out just from my telling him about this.

Leave a Reply

