Like the Energizer Bunny

Posted: August 31, 2007 in Uncategorized

I keep going and going and going.  After two days of focused work away from the office, and a late night at LP Field with the Titans … and an early day at the office today, I’m about wiped out…. but I gotta keep on going!

We’re about an hour away from concession stand duty for tonight’s first home game.   That is something I will actually miss when Chelsea graduates – this is year #4 serving up burgers, nachos and other concession favorites at the high school football games.  I’ve worked almost every home game during that time.

I love the camaraderie with the other moms and dads … and almost always I can squeeze in some talk about church or Jesus.  So that is really cool.

Chelsea is field commanding the band tonight for the first time in public.  I’ve been sneaking over at some of the rehearsals and she’s looking pretty tight.  I know she’ll do well.  I’ll miss tonight’s performance, since concessions are busiest at half-time.  But all senior parents work tonight so that we are off on homecoming night and “senior night” at the end of the season.  (Joe will tuck away and videotape her performance, so I’ll see it at home tonight!)

Tomorrow is “Y” Day.  I’ve recommitted to my workouts.  I have to.  So I’ll be there tomorrow, Sunday and Monday.  I know I’ll feel better for it.  So pray for my “will power” ’cause I’d rather be at Kyoto kickin’ back Philly and Cali-rolls!!!  Some of you know EXACTLY what I’m talkin’ about.

Somewhere this weekend, I really am going to just enjoy life.  You know, take a little breather.  Enjoy some time with my hubby, etc.  It’s been SO difficult to find that valued time lately.

And with our church move (praise the Lord) to the Regal Theater in less than two weeks, there seems to be so much to think through.   We just created new advertising for local papers.  I wrote the press release yesterday afternoon between the retreat and heading to the game.  You’ll start seeing the ads this next week.

But you know what?  I am amazed at the additional “go juice” that God gives me to stay pumped up.  I praise His name for that awesome power that just reaches into the depths of us – and equips us just when we need it.

So, it’s time to throw on the flip flops, grab a water and hit the door for tonight’s game.  Go Indians!   I’ll catch you after the game!

Comments
  1. Tracey says:

    Pam, I am SURE that the band boosters will let you go flip burgers in the concession stand next year if you’d like! : ) No need to give up that thrill just ’cause Chetch graduates this year!

    Oh no…wait! Even better: I’ll let you take my place and flip burgers for Jessye’s high school’s band concessions. Next year, of course. (I understand you’re still committed for Chelsea’s high school band this year.) But, girl…I’ll let you know what nights I’m s’pposta work concessions next year when you’re an empty nester. You and Joe can come down here…you can flip burgers…It’ll be fabulous! …See how I’m lookin’ for ways to help fill that void for you?

  2. pcase says:

    Oh Tracey – your imagination is running wild with you. Now, don’t get me wrong. As an empty nester next year, you can bet we’ll make our way down I-40 for a visit. But as for that burger-flipping thing…. I’ll need to think about that! Truth is, I’ll want to sit in the stands and see our Jessye perform!!

Leave a Reply

