I am smiling

Posted: November 28, 2007 in Uncategorized

I just love when my joy in the Lord has me grinning from ear to ear.  I have had the most awesome couple of days.   I just want to smile. Why?   For many reasons.  Most of all, I am simply beyond happy with this season of my life.   Do you ever feel that way?   To the point you just want to throw out a big toothy grin?  (I know, that may not look so pretty, but bear with me!)

Truth is, I am celebrating the road I am traveling these days.  First of all, I love being a pastor’s wife. I really do.  Now, don’t get me wrong.   It is sometimes a very bumpy road. No one, and I mean NO ONE, understands the life of a senior pastor’s life unless you have lived it alongside of him. I am so humbled just to walk with this man I love.  I so enjoy growth moments that occur in church life – those moments that God uses to mold us more and more into His image. Whoa – that makes my heart soar!  And it makes me smile.

I was sharing with a church staff member recently about things I’ve learned during this journey.  There is so much more to this life in a new church plant than prepping for a Sunday morning service. I am extremely thankful for God’s grace, His mercy and His love for us – as He truly knows our hearts and how desperately we seek to do what He would have us to do with every step we take.  Oh, what we learn as we walk in His way!

Next, I am truly loving my “day job”.  I love the people I serve with in that ministry work.  I love the challenge each day brings.  I am humbled as God allows our team some amazing opportunities to minister especially to women, literally, around the world.  I have learned to recognize that I am only as good as those around me.  God has brought together the most amazing team of men and women to join me in doing His work.  He is abundantly blessing our efforts.   One of my favorite things to do is to look back – realizing how God allowed me some extreme experiences to bring me to this point in my career.  Simply, an awesome blessing that makes me smile.

And I am beyond thankful for supportive friends who love us unconditionally. I’ve been living on this earth for quite a while now.  I’ve known many joys and pains – from the joy of giving birth to the pain of losing a parent to heart failure.  From the joy of meeting the man of my dreams to the pain of being hurt by some who I had once called my friends.   To the joy of watching my child become a bride to the pain of a loved one who turned his back on God.

I’ve experienced so much more, but you get the idea.  The joys and the pains have helped to shape who I am.  And I am extremely thankful for it all. I smile.I know God has great expectations for me in this life on earth. And I know that He has gifted me in ways that bring Him great joy when I do it all for His glory and not my own.

That makes God smile.

And, in turn, makes me smile!     

Leave a Reply

