I’m voting for the One Who will remain unshaken

Posted: January 4, 2008 in Uncategorized

I gotta give ‘ol Perry Noble credit. It’s as if he was standing in the middle of a conversation I had at my office this week …

Perry is the senior pastor of NewSpring Church in Anderson, SC. We’ve followed that church, even back when they weren’t so well known. That Perry guy is a piece of work. He tells it like it is. Most times I’m right there with him, and today was one of those days! You could’ve knocked me over with a feather when I read his blog.

I, too, have just about had it with church leaders using valuable platform time to specifically influence the vote. Now, with the power of the internet, pastors all over the country are making political stands on their blogs. While that is certainly up to them, I just can’t imagine God being too pleased that we would spend so much time – and space- lifting up imperfect men and women above the opportunity to introduce and get to know a perfect Savior.

Honestly, I cannot think of anything more important a pastor can do than simply say “PRAY’ about it. Go to the poll. Vote. Then walk away and trust God. Pray that God will move in a mighty way and that His will would be done.

Here’s some history I shared with my friends at work earlier in the week.

My parents were diehard Republicans. My dad served as county chair for the Republican Party when I was very young. My mom was the state secretary for the Republican party somewhere along the way. All I knew back then was my parents were about as involved as any “volunteer” supporters could possibly be. I learned early on the importance of a single vote.

When I got older, I remember working the polls. Many times. I supported candidates, sometimes to a very bitter end. It was the political system at its best (as best as it could be at the time). Nevertheless, I wouldn’t trade those experiences for anything.

Today, I find myself torn – especially as it relates to the upcoming Presidential election. I’m just about mad at every candidate running.

Don’t get me wrong – I am addicted to talk radio. I care about the issues – all of them. I listen intently driving both ways to/from the office every single day. I can sit in front of Fox News for hours with only an occasional “biology break”. I’ve heard interviews with every single candidate (who is still in the running). I’ve heard interviewERS from both sides AND in the middle of the political fence.

Here’s what I’ve learned.

There is only ONE in control. Only ONE Who will remain on His throne. Only ONE Who will remain unshaken. Everyone else will be less than perfect. Everyone.

All this “stuff” that is flowing back in forth in the name of straw polls, caucuses, primaries, etc. is simply part of the process. Let’s not make it bigger than it is.

I can guarantee you one thing – God tends to move in some pretty mighty ways, even when my imperfect guy doesn’t make it into the Oval Office. And THAT is a promise I can believe in.

Leave a Reply

