Here I Am

Posted: February 9, 2008 in Uncategorized

I remember an old saying from someone who said “I keep meeting myself coming and going”.   Well, that has been me this week …

Actually, the first week of every month is like this for me.   Mostly because my day-job is always intense during the first week.  Lots of meetings.   We call it “at home week” at the office because all of our full time “on the road” people come in town for all the meetings, etc.  They start on Monday and continue until the end of the week.

The biggie meetings for me personally are always the first Monday and third Mondays of the month.  Those I lead – they go all day except lunch.    Some months are more intense than others.  I am surrounded by the most incredible people around the meeting table, men and women.  All bring unique gifts and talents.   Together, God leads us into some wonderful ministry work across this land and around the world with a little “business” tied in.  Okay, a lot of business.  But, it is so much stinkin’ fun.  Hard, hard work that is WAY bigger than I am.  But so much fun.   We leave LOTS of room for God to work!

Secondly, on a more personal note, my house has been a luny bin related to the church’s move back to the YMCA from the theatre.  All the detail has been nuts, but pretty exciting as we’ve heard from many who are equally as stoked about our return.   (BTW, we were done unloading the theatre in an hour this morning, maybe just a couple of minutes more than that.)   Dude, we loaded that truck in record time.  

Next, the unload.  It takes place tonight at 7p.  Come out if you want to help or just “cheer us on”.

Little update on the diet – oh my gosh – it’s working!   And just in time.    I’m part of an on-camera video project that I’m pretty pumped about.  It’s sick! Stay tuned for more on that.

Little update on the eye – gee whiz it has taken FOREVER for this thing to disappear.  But I’m on the down side and feel most confident it’ll be all cleared up before I’m standing in front of that camera I mentioned in the last graf.

I’m reading like three or four books at the same time, two of which really have my attention.  Both have me thinking about how we “do church”.  Not just us at the UC, but everywhere.   If interested, check out UnChristian by David Kinnaman (used to be an intern there, but now full time at The Barna Group) … and the other book is called Pagan Christianity?   Yes with the “?” at the end, by Frank Viola and George Barna.  This one will really get you thinking and digging deep into Scripture.  Wahooo – I love this type of reading!  Do I agree with it all – no.   But frankly, other than God’s Word, can’t say I’ve ever read anything I agree with cover to cover.   But I’d still like to make these mandatory reading for every church leader “doing church”.  But hey, that’s just me.

Gotta run – gonna spend some time on iTunes looking for a song that’ll add a little “flair” to a video we’re showing in the morning during the service. 

Comments
  1. Paul says:

    It was good to see you yesterday at Mexican on the Hill and I have to be honest and say that I did not even notice your eye. Glad at-home week is over. It is good to have it but good when it is done too. Praying for your work at LifeWay and your church as well.

Leave a Reply

