Days like today are the best

Posted: February 21, 2008 in Uncategorized

I am always prepared for a busy day. It is just the nature of the beast. But for whatever reason, this particular Thursday just seemed to breeze by. And I have seemed so peaceful for nine straight hours …

I have monthly update meetings with my boss. Today was one of those scheduled meetings. I love those times because I learn so much. He is the best ever and is so encouraging. On top of that, he trusts his team. My peers and I are given great flexibility in our work.

I go into those meetings as prepared as possible. He expects me to be. As I lay out various aspects of my work, I love how he listens intently – then always responds with the best feedback to help me guide my work.

That was how I started my day today. It went very well.

You see, I just love what I do and the place God has me right now. It is so weird because 20+ years ago you couldn’t have told me I’d be a pastor’s wife … and you sure couln’t have told me that God was going to use me to be “visionary” to some great women’s ministry work! I would’ve laughed – and probably cried.

Fast forward to today – I have found myself in a deep state of thankfulness. More than ever before.

I should feel that way minute-to-minute, but you know how that is. We get busy and don’t always find time to give God our gratitude. But today as I give God the glory for great things He has done. I recognize, above all, that it is He who has equipped me. And it is my unceasing dependence on Him that will keep me tracking.

I give Him glory, even on those days that aren’t like today. Because THAT’S really when He teaches and equips me the most.

May God guide you in all that you do. And on your best … and on your worst days … may you find it within yourself to praise His name and His mighty power within you.

Comments
  1. Tim Kurek says:

    AMEN and AMEN!!! Preach is sister! haha… Today was one of those days… All I had was some easy math and then got to hang out with my awesome pastor, who I guess just so happens to be your incredible husband, and we got to talk about some stuff that needed to be talked about. I very much value my time with Joe and the input he gives, just like you were saying about your boss. But overall, everything just massively points back to God and His AMAZING AWESOMENESS!!!! I can’t wait for Sunday, and I hope the rest of your week goes as beautifully as today did!

    Tim Kurek
    http://UriahMinistries.wordpress.com

    p.s. I have my signature set up with my wordpress haha so dont think I just type it out every time lol. Had to say that. I was embarrased.

Leave a Reply

