No April Fool’s Joke

Posted: April 1, 2008 in Uncategorized

Nope – this isn’t a joke. This is an announcement to parents of high school seniors, it IS possible to …

1. Allow a high school senior to make a college choice that will be agreeable by all

2. Have all college forms filled out and sent to the appropriate departments in ADVANCE of the deadlines

3. To get an admissions acceptance, dorm assignment AND all financial aid complete nearly five months before “move in” day

4. To get used to the idea that you are about to “empty nest” and be excited about it

All of this to say …

As I was attending one of two final Band Booster meetings tonight, I realized I was officially “letting go”. It was the strangest thing. I suppose most parents cannot relate unless they’ve walked this path. This is my second time, but it’s been eight years since my first child left the nest.

Strangely enough, it felt good with a little sadness mixed in. We elected officers tonight and it was the first time in years that my name was not on the ballet for one of the officer positions. VERY weird, yet so very freeing.

Tonight, I look toward tomorrow. It will be a most interesting journey. Those who’ve walked ahead of me tell me this will be the best part of my life … so let’s get the party started!

Comments
  1. Tracey says:

    No more band for Pam! Wooooo-hooo! I’m outa that business after this year, too. But, my first baby’s not leavin’ the nest for another three years. (And, I’m good with that!) She doesn’t have all her feathers yet, so I don’t want her attempting flight just yet!
    love you!
    Tracey

Leave a Reply

