More on my survey

Posted: April 13, 2008 in Uncategorized

I really have been pondering   “What keeps people from serving in the church?”  Excuses like:

I’m too busy.

I’m too tired.

No one cares if I get involved.

I don’t know anyone at the church.

It’s someone else’s job.

Isn’t that what the staff is for?

When my kids get older, I’ll get involved

And the list goes on and on.

So, as I ponder this – ponder with me. If you have other ideas why people don’t choose to serve, send your thoughts in a comment.

Comments
  1. Tracey says:

    How ’bout:

    “I’m new here.”
    “I don’t know anyone.”
    “All these people already know each other. I won’t know a soul. What if no one will talk to me? What if I feel out of place?”
    “I need to know more about God before I start acting like I can do ministry work.”
    “I’m just a kid.”
    “I’m a senior citizen now and have served plenty in my time. Somebody else can serve now. I’m retired.”
    “I’m totally burned out on doing ministry.”

  2. How about…
    “I don’t see where I’m really needed” or
    “I don’t have anything to offer” or
    “there’s not a ministry where I can use my talents” or
    “I’m not good enough” or
    “I’m burned out” or
    “I’ve done enough already, I’ve served my time”

  3. Lynette says:

    I’ve been asked to do things that aren’t my gifting, and if that’s the case, I’m not interested, and will decline the opportunity (with an explanation, of course). For example, I have a child, but I’m not interested in or gifted for leading children’s classes — yet I’ve been asked to do that many times. Churches need to help people know and understand their gifts, and then help them find opportunities to “plug in”. If a church member has never been assisted in learning their gifts, they might get excited if they have an opportunity to learn them and then become involved in ways that match those gifts. (That’s what led me to church involvement!)

Leave a Reply

