High School Reunion

Posted: April 23, 2008 in Uncategorized

Today has been quite eventful. It started early in the a.m. when I heard my email buzzing on my blackberry …

Out of “the clear blue sky” as they say, one of my best high school buddies sent me a personal email from this very blog site.

You see, I had missed our high school reunion last fall. It bummed me out I missed it, especially since many of my old friends attended. (please, no offense meant by “old”). Now, my buddies are coming to me.

I had some of the best friends in high school. And yes, it sure has been a while since we’ve been together. BUT, I can tell you that for many of us, we’ll simply pick up where we left off.

My friend Sally, whose nickname was “Beef” (which is a whack story to begin with) contacted me first. Then Jim. Then Kathy (also known as “Smootie”). OK, it simply gets weirder from there. So, I’ll stop while I’m ahead.

So, the reunion will continue this weekend on Saturday night. The old gang is getting together – lots of us – for the first time in a long time. I absolutely cannot wait.

Sally and I emailed most of today, in between meetings and other emails. At points, I literally laughed out loud at the memories of some of our high school antics. We were probably boring to most people around us back then. But to us, we were tight as ticks. And we had so many “private jokes” that we could go on and on about stuff and NO ONE would ever have a clue what we were referring to.

All the parents liked us, too. Which was also weird, because who REALLY likes somebody else’s kids? I mean, REALLY!!! But all of our moms and dads treated us all like their own.

It’s so funny – I feel like a missing body part is about to be reconnected.

We built some pretty good friendships back then. We simply drifted apart. Won’t it be a kick to get back together with those who helped shape a terrific four years of high school?

Of course, I’ll have my handy dandy Sony Cybershot camera and get plenty of pix to share here. So, hang on.

I’m about to drag you down my high school memory lane.

Leave a Reply

