Can someone please explain this to me?

Posted: May 11, 2008 in Uncategorized

Okay – this is where I am and, frankly, I need a little help trying to decipher it. So, here’s your chance college psych majors (and minors like me) who would like to put some of that education to work …

It’s about my diet … or not.

“You’re all over the map” was a quote from my husband today. He is right.

Let’s start with lunch today. I was such a good girl. Drinking my water with lemon. Eating a salad topped with fresh salmon. Oh, it was very “diet friendly”.

But looking back to yesterday, I ended by day by stopping at Sir Pizza after church set-up for a personal pan that I devoured like I’d never eat again.

THEN, just a moment ago, some 18 hours after the pizza incident, I literally suggested that we leave the house and drive through Mickey D’s for an order of salty, hot French Fries.

What is all this?

One moment, I’m convicted about eating right and allowing only healthy foods in. Then, almost in the same breath, it’s like “where’s that wall of chocolate cake?”

Does it have anything to do with finishing our daughter’s graduation invitations? OR is it just my need to understand if there really is a connection between fatty foods and jump-starting metabolism so that I can lose weight and still eat “the bad stuff”? (I really do want to know the answer to that one.)

I really am all over the map. Does any of this make sense?

So, if you have any insight into this “extreme” food-craving behavior, your comments would be most appreciated.

Comments
  1. beef says:

    hon, best not to deny yourself too much: repression makes things come out in scary ways. I liked the book “French Women Don’t Get Fat.” Eat only the best quality foods, and just a little bit of each. Soon your stomach will shrink, but you’re still getting dark chocolate, etc.

  2. pcase says:

    You are SO right. I am feeling that way now. I have been more careful about “what goes in” (for the most part). Denying yourself is trouble from the word “Go”! And you sure are right about it coming out in scary ways. Thanks for the sound advice, Beef! As always – you are on it! Love ya!

Leave a Reply

