What I have in common with Ryan Seacrest

Posted: May 15, 2008 in Uncategorized

This may come as a surprise to you …. but I have an addiction.

It is my Blackberry.

I have one called “the curve” and it is the absolute best communications device I’ve ever owned. Ryan Seacrest has the exact phone.

Ryan was on Larry King Live tonight. It was actually a fascinating time, watching these two entertainment guys interact. (Just making sure you know that Ryan hosts American Idol, right?)

During the course of the live interview, I realized that many of Ryan’s “blackberry habits” were ones that I shared with him. Allow me to expand.

It begins with my obsession with walking around holding that thing in my hand or attached to my body at all times.

Like Ryan, I sleep very little. I’m beginning to realize I am one of those people who just don’t need tons of sleep. My dad was like that. (Example: I went to bed last night at 1:30am after putting finishing touches on a music slideshow for one of Chelsea’s end-of-year banquets). Then, I popped right up at 6am and hit the shower.

AND if my “little red light” on the BB is blinking in the middle of the night, I’ll reach over and read the message. I’ve even been known to Twitter at 3am! I know. It’s pathetic.

Like Ryan, I have learned to turn off the phone so that it doesn’t vibrate and wake me up in the middle of the night. That has been a good thing.

But dog gone it, if the absolutely worst vice I have is wanting to be connected 24/7 with the most advanced technology out there, please don’t condemn me. I am simply the product of a father who was on the cutting edge of technology my entire life. Then, I married a man with a similar obsession.

After a few decades of living like that, I was simply destined to carry on the obsession.

Did I mention it was an obsession?

Now, don’t bombard me with emails or comments that suggest I’ve placed my BB on a priority list that tops Jesus, my husband, my family or even my work. I’m just sayin’ …. I kinda like my phone. Wish my dad was alive today so I could call him on it.

As for my offspring? I have an 18 year old who gets it honestly. Yep, she has a blackberry, too. Go figure.

So, IT’S YOUR TURN.   What is your blackberry-like addiction?

Comments
  1. Jenni was right…kindred spirits. That’s all I have to say!

    (Actually, that probaby isn’t true…I’ll have a lot more to say)

  2. pcase says:

    Oh, and one other BB observation tonight. O’Malley on Grey’s Anatomy was holding one of the “titanium” BB’s Curves during the show. Note the BB commercials during Grey’s, too. No coincidence.

  3. beef says:

    LOVE my iPhone….

Leave a Reply

