Ready for what’s next

Posted: May 24, 2008 in Uncategorized

Graduation at our house has been … well, an amazing range of emotions.

I’ve never been so happy and sad and excited and nervous all at the same time. And I’m thankful for our family of 10 who were able to be in the crowd cheering for the graduate – and of course, throwing in a little “embarrassment” just because.

The craziness of roller coaster emotions continued today with many dropping by the house to wish Chelsea well.

Visits included several of Chelsea’s friends, who wound up wrapping up the afternoon sitting on the family room floor playing games. It was a sweet way to wrap up the day.

Then, out I went. I mean, I cleaned up the kitchen. Loaded some laundry, then literally fell out on the sofa for a couple of hours.

Now, Chelsea is wrapping up her celebration weekend at a girlfriend’s house at a pool party. That same group of kids are together again … slowing walking toward what is next for them.

It will come in many forms, as each of them have very different plans. Each with their own ideas about “next steps”.

Meantime, I think I’ll take it one day at a time. I believe I’ve officially hit the “I’m pooped wall”. So “what’s next” for me is some quiet time at home.

G’nite ya’ll.

Comments
  1. beef says:

    Congrats!
    Did you straighten your hair?

  2. pcase says:

    Hey Beef – thanks for the comment and in answer to your question “yes, I straightened my hair”. It’s never the same two days in a row. My “hair changes” are a popular hallway topic among my office friends. See you Tuesday night for another girls night out!!

  3. […] (For more highlights and pictures, check out my wife’s blog HERE.) […]

  4. Hi Pamela,

    Congratulations! I think that Jenni may have been right…we do live parallel lives in many respects!

    So we got through our graduation this weekend, too. Same pics posted on my blogs…kind of funny. Same emotions running through. Top emotion would be pride in my girl, second would be joy that we all got through the school years successfully. Third would be bittersweet realization that her life is going to change soon, whether we want it to or not.

    I guess God loves to speak in these topsy turvy kind of days.

    Congrats again!

Leave a Reply

