Glue

Posted: June 19, 2008 in Uncategorized

It’s funny. I have said it in passing. I have even sort of joked about it through the years. But I’m realizing that there is some truth now in some of my musings …

I am GLUE!

So I know you’re thinking, “what is she talking about?”.

It goes back to my days in radio, leading marketing and promotion.

I can recall times when the sales people would be all hacked off at the programming people. Meanwhile, the programming people would spend most of their time slamming the sales people.

But at the end of the day, they needed each other. Let’s all sing along now. People, people who need people. (Sorry, I digressed).

So when sales couldn’t get their message through to programming. And when programming had no intention of listening to sales, they’d all end up in my office. Conveniently, my office was located smack dab in the middle of the two departments. And understand that not a one of them worked for me. I was pretty much a single gal department, with one assistant.

Too many times to mention I found myself mediating conversations. Mending fences. Funny about radio people. Everyone wanted the radio station to succeed. Everyone wanted to be right. And many times, no one cared who they hurt to get there.

I found that my role was to help people meet in the middle. I’m not going to bore you with how I did that. I’m not even going to pretend that I had all the answers back then. I was too young and just didn’t know that much. I just worked it in the moment.

But looking back, that was the beginning of me becoming “glue”. The situation always started a bit tacky…a little bit sticky. But when all was said and done, we’d end up on the same page with a rock solid promotional package that sales could take to the streets – selling businesses and listeners on the station’s programming.

It was all in a day’s work.

And those “glue days” seem to continue in my work today. I don’t mind it at all.

It even happens in the church. All churches need “glue people”. I think it is more of an art than a science. And I’ve found it to be more of an innate quality over something that is learned.

Don’t get me wrong. People can learn the do’s and don’ts of mediation. One can be trained to guide from disagreement to agreement. But not everyone is programmed innately to be “glue”.

But we are all creatively made.

The last thing our Heavenly Father wants for us is to be at odds over silly things. And I know that He must frown when we’ve stomped on someone’s heart on the way to prove that we’re right – only to find that we couldn’t have been more wrong.

So, while everyone may not be wired to be like glue, I know our God smiles when we do our best to be like Jesus.

Comments
  1. beef says:

    sounds like my role in family / workplaces — the one who makes things happen and brings people together (although it feels a little dysfunctional)

  2. imgladyouasked says:

    That is a great description! I was doing some personality profiles a few months back and at first I was a little down because I thought they were showing me to be a people pleaser, and I hate that quality in myself. But then I looked at it from the perspective of being a teacher in a classroom, which is what I am studying to be, and being a little bit of each personality type, “glue”, is a good thing. It makes me better able to connect with the kids in the classroom. Glue is a great word!

Leave a Reply

