Smells of Thanksgiving, like lemon Pine-Sol, etc.

Posted: November 24, 2008 in Uncategorized

Yep, it’s clean-up time around our house.  And I’d be lying if I told you the house just needed a “little pickup”.  Our place is nuts, especially in my closet.  I’m just sayin …I’ve been slow to do much cleaning in the last few weeks, and quick to sit on the sofa after long days at the office.  Frankly, it’s been a long fall season.  And I am simply pooped.

But today – while working at home some – I broke out the cleaning solutions, duster and the vacuum cleaner and began the process.  I have 48 hours to git’er done.   My step-son and his girlfriend arrive Wednesday night.  My oldest daughter pops in early Saturday.  It will be alot of coming and going, including a 90-mile round trip to my sister’s for the formal Thanksgiving meal.

That is, if you call a formal meal “walking through a very casual buffet line, piling on 5 pounds of turkey & dressing on the plate, and plopping down in front of the television to watch football in the family room”.   That’s about as formal as we’ll ever get.  Of course, this year is EXTRA special because our beloved  TN Titans will be playing football on Thanksgiving Day – taking on the Detroit Lions.

While none of our “visiting family” will be here very long, I did determine that any of them staying longer than 5 minutes would appreciate a clean toilet and some fresh bath towels and linens.  And they’d probably like it if my cat’s furballs weren’t scattered across the top of our carpet (bless her heart, she is Himilayan and sheds like crazy!)

All that said, the beginning signs of cleanliness are beginning to show.  I can see myself in the mirrors again.   And I can no longer spell my name in dust on the glass end table.

Things are looking up.

Leave a Reply

