Top 10 Things Occupying My Mind This Moment

Posted: December 5, 2008 in Uncategorized

Nothing should make you more nervous than me sharing “what’s on my mind”. These days there’s a lot … here’s what came flowing out first:  

 

1. My diet
2. The many friends who have told me they’d support me on my journey to lose weight. I love you all so much!
3. My youngest daughter wrapping up her first semester of college (one week to finish!)
4. Decorating the empty tree that has been standing in my family room since last Saturday night
5. The all-day business team meeting I’m leading on Monday
6. When to go to the gym tomorrow, early a.m. or late afternoon
7. Reconciliation, too long to discuss, but a future post for sure
8. My car that’s making an insane squealing noise. I am so nervous about finding out what it is ($$$)
9. What to wear for a work video project we are shooting in Chattanooga on Tuesday
10. A contract worker to our women’s events who was diagnosed with malaria. I’m praying like crazy for Nate.

Those are literally the ten things that came to mind while I typed. As thoughts popped in my head, I quickly came to realize “where was God in all of this” other than the mention of praying for Nate in #10?  That’s not to say I didn’t see how God might work in all of these, I just felt conviction that I hadn’t stated it enough along the way.

In all ten of those things listed above, and in the hundred other things crammed into my head, I just don’t want to leave God out … not from my thoughts, my heart, my life. But at the pace we tend to move, it’s become too easy to get distracted from the main thing.

Let’s commit to holding each other up. Living life, but making sure we’ve got a God-centered mindset and God-centered heart. Even if we’re asked to list our “top ten mind-occupying thoughts”, we’ve got Christ weaved into all of them! Love ya’ll!

Comments
  1. Pete Wilson says:

    If you go to they gym in the evening maybe I’ll see you there. I’ll be the guy sitting at a table working out my mouth. 🙂

  2. pcase says:

    Update on the top 10:
    1. Diet moving along well, except for the orange rolls I had this evening. Overall, successful weekend.
    2. Friends still lovin’ on me!
    3. 3 days and my little girl is home.
    4. Tree IS decorated. Finished during the Titan’s win over Cleveland!
    5. So far, 2 of the 18 coming to the meeting are sick with the flu. Pray.
    6. Went to the gym Sat. late afternoon, right before church setup (double workout!)
    7. Still reconciling
    8. Car is still squealing, can’t find time to check it out.
    9. Bought a new outfit for the video
    10. No update on Nate today, but still prayin’. I’ll let you know!

Leave a Reply

