My 2009 Top 10, now hold me to it!

Posted: December 26, 2008 in Uncategorized

It’s the day after Christmas, and I’ve broken my own pledge.  I had promised myself a little break until the first of the year.  But a Top 10 list was looming in my head and it just wouldn’t let me rest until I posted, so here I go …

Top 10 Reasons I’m Jazzed About 2009:

1.  We paid cash for all the Christmas gifts this year, so no huge credit card bills busting out of my mailbox in late January.

2.  Both my car and Joe’s truck are scheduled to be paid off this year.

3.  UpRising Church is breaking records. Most new church plants don’t make it past the first two years!  We are alive and well and celebrating the beginning of year #3 on January 18, 2009.  Make sure you join us for that!  I’m convinced this will be an amazing year for the UC!

4.  Health and wellness is a priority for 2oo9, actually beginning BEFORE the New Year’s ball drops.  I plan on looking a lot more fit and trim in the 2009 family Christmas pics.  I’ve already committed to the 1/2 Marathon in April.  Dang, I am stinkin’ insane!

5.  Investing, investing, investing in people.  People in our church.  People around me at work.  My family. ‘Nuff said.

6.  Leaning in and standing firm.  Leaning in where there’s conflict and resolve quickly.  Standing firm when I know I’m standing on God’s strength and foundation.  

7.  Taking a class I call Mercy 101.  I don’t have much.  Those of you who REALLY know me are EXACTLY aware what I’m talking about. But I’m gonna get me some of that mercy if it’s the last thing I do.

8.  Giving decaf a try as it relates to item #4 above.  And drink a few less ventis, giving my debit card a break by drinking “talls” (Starbuck’s version of the ‘small’).  Here’s hoping God will bless my efforts to invest in my future.

9.  Be the absolute best wife and mom I can be.  I’m talking about WAY better than I already think in my own mind.  I have a long way to go.  2009 will be dedicated to some heavy duty dedication to my man and my fam.

10.  Give God WAY more attention than I do my crackberry,  Macberry, twitterberry world!  May be the toughest challenge of the year!

So why are YOU jazzed about 2009?

Comments
  1. This is a great list and a huge challenge. I can put most of these on my list as well. I’m calling 2009 the year of “Structure”. Look forward to results as I discipline myself even more.

    Probably doing the 1/2 also.

  2. […] I have to do this now.  I had mentioned it in an earlier post in December.  Now, I’ve committed with another great group  of encouraging friends. Ask me […]

Leave a Reply

