Off the diet … in the name of church planting

Posted: February 27, 2008 in Uncategorized

Just for a night, I took a break. I had to. We were at PF Chang’s. It wasn’t really WHAT I ate, but how much.

I have been SO good up until now. Tonight, I insisted on eating ALL my lettuce wraps.

Of course, Joe – as well as our guests DeAnna and Gary Lamb – ate all of theirs, too …

We had a great time.

I know this… true church planter families are the greatest. It takes a special breed to go out and do what we do. Few have the guts or lack of brains to step out and plant a church (please, no offense meant). But you know what I mean.

But honestly. I have learned so much in the last ten years. And we are not anywhere near the end of learning. What I do know is this: Not everyone is cut out to be part of launching brand new works.

It is hard stuff. It takes faith. It takes commitment. It takes TOTAL support of the pastor and the vision of the church. It takes steadfastness. It takes loyalty. And maybe just a couple of dollars.

And it takes LOADS of humility. We’ve learned that the hard way, too.

We are very thankful for our new friends, The Lambs. God is blessing them richly in Canton, Georgia where Gary is senior pastor at Revolution Church.

Tomorrow is going to be so much fun for my hubby. Gary will be joining Joe and a host of other great local planters who will “become one” around a table tomorrow at Crosspoint Community Church – to talk about nothing else but CHURCH PLANTING!

Meanwhile, to Gary and DeAnna, we cannot wait to break bread with you guys again. Thanks for the fellowship, support and encouragement from the land of the bulldogs! You all rock!

Leave a comment